FBR Open Entertainment




PHOENIX, Ariz. – Former Masters champion Fred Couples and four-time PGA TOUR winners Robert Allenby and Chad Campbell committed today to play in the 2008 FBR Open.  To date, 19 of the top-30 and 101 of the top-125 money leaders from the 2007 season have committed, as well as 21 of the top-50 players from the Official World Golf Ranking.  The tournament also received commitments today from Bob Estes, Paul Goydos and Fredrik Jacobson.

A field of 132 players will vie for the $6 million purse, the $1,080,000 first place check and highly-coveted FedExCup points when “The Greatest Show on Grass” returns to the TPC Scottsdale the week of January 28 – Feb. 3, 2008.

Phil Mickelson and Steve Stricker rank second and third, respectively, on the Official World Golf Ranking, and are the highest ranked players to commit to the tournament.  Others in the field who rank among the top-20 on the World Golf Ranking include Rory Sabbatini, who ranks 9th; Vijay Singh at 11th; Geoff Ogilvy at 13th; 2007 Masters Champion Zach Johnson, who sits at 16th; defending FBR Open champ Aaron Baddeley at 17th; and Trevor Immelman, who is currently 19th on the list.

PGA TOUR members have until 5 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 25, to commit to play in the FBR Open.  Eligible players are assigned one of 34 PGA TOUR priority ranking categories based on their past performance on TOUR. The field will continue to change as players with better priority rankings commit to play in the Open.

Other notable commitments have been received from 1989 British Open champ and three-time FBR/Phoenix Open winner Mark Calcavecchia, 1996 British Open winner Tom Lehman, 1995 British Open champion Justin Leonard, 2003 PGA Championship winner Shaun Micheel and 2001 PGA Championship winner David Toms.

Currently 12 former FBR/Phoenix Open champions are in the field, including Tommy Armour III (1990), Paul Azinger (1987) (exemption), Baddeley (2007), Calcavecchia (1989, 1992, 2001), Chris DiMarco (2002), J.B. Holmes (2006), Jonathan Kaye (2004), Lehman (2000), Rocco Mediate (1999), Mickelson (1996, 2005), Jesper Parnevik (1998) and Singh (1995, 2003).

Commitments also have been received from Stuart Appleby, Woody Austin, Stewart Cink, Fred Funk, J.J. Henry, Charley Hoffman, Charles Howell III, Kenny Perry, John Rollins, Camilo Villegas, Bubba Watson, Boo Weekley and Brett Wetterich. 

 Other Valley residents in the field include Michael Allen, Todd Demsey (exemption), Robert Garrigus, Billy Mayfair, Arron Oberholser, Pat Perez, Ted Purdy (exemption), Chez Reavie (exemption) and Jeff Quinney.

Current Field Below (as of 1/23/2008)

Michael Allen
Robert Allenby
Stuart Appleby
Ryan Armour
Tommy Armour III
Woody Austin
Eric Axley
Paul Azinger
Aaron Baddeley
Briny Baird
Craig Barlow
Cameron Beckman
Rich Beem
David Berganio, Jr.
Shane Bertsch
Jason Bohn
Olin Browne
Bart Bryant
Jonathan Byrd
Mark Calcavecchia
Chad Campbell
Alex Cejka
Daniel Chopra
Stewart Cink
Fred Couples
Ben Crane
Ben Curtis
Brian Davis
Todd Demsey
Chris DiMarco
Ken Duke
Joe Durant
Steve Elkington

Bob Estes
Nick Flanagan
Steve Flesch
Fred Funk
Robert Garrigus
Brian Gay
Lucas Glover
Mathew Goggin
Jason Gore
Paul Goydos
Nathan Green
Mathias Gronberg
Bill Haas
Todd Hamilton
Dudley Hart
J.P. Hayes
J.J. Henry
Mark Hensby
Tim Herron
Charley Hoffman
J.B. Holmes
Charles Howell III
Ryuji Imada
Trevor Immelman
Fredrik Jacobson
Brandt Jobe
Richard Johnson
Zach Johnson
Jonathan Kaye
Jerry Kelly
Anthony Kim
Cliff Kresge
Matt Kuchar

Stephen Leaney
Tom Lehman
Justin Leonard
Frank Lickliter II
Peter Lonard
Will MacKenzie
Hunter Mahan
John Mallinger
Steve Marino
Shigeki Maruyama
Troy Matteson
Billy Mayfair
Scott McCarron
Rocco Mediate
Shaun Micheel
Phil Mickelson
Ryan Moore
Kevin Na
Sean O'Hair
Nick O'Hern
Arron Oberholser
Joe Ogilvie
Geoff Ogilvy
Jeff Overton
Rod Pampling
Jesper Parnevik
Pat Perez
Tom Pernice, Jr.
Kenny Perry
Tim Petrovic
Carl Pettersson
Ted Purdy
Brett Quigley

Jeff Quinney
Chez Reavie
John Rollins
Andres Romero
Rory Sabbatini
John Senden
Vijay Singh
Heath Slocum
Brandt Snedeker
Steve Stricker
Kevin Sutherland
Vaughn Taylor
Roland Thatcher
David Toms
D.J. Trahan
Bo Van Pelt
Camilo Villegas
Johnson Wagner
Charles Warren
Nick Watney
Bubba Watson
Boo Weekley
Brett Wetterich
Charlie Wi
Jay Williamson
Dean Wilson
Mark Wilson

3  Open Qualifying
2 Sponsors Exemptions - Unrestricted
1 Section Exemption
132 Players in the Field
Rumford, Brett
Stroud, Chris
Mills, Jon
Park, Jin
Day, Jason
Allred, Jason
Thompson, Nicholas
Yang, Y.E.
Jones, Matt
Ridings, Tag

For more US Golf information, visit: