FBR Open Players




PHOENIX, Ariz. – Former U.S. Open champion Geoff Ogilvy, South Africa’s Trevor Immelman and rising golf superstar Camilo Villegas are the latest to commit to the 2008 FBR Open.  To date, 17 of the top-30 and 95 of the top-125 money leaders from the 2007 season have committed, as well as 20 of the top-50 players from the Official World Golf Ranking. 

A field of 132 players will vie for the $6 million purse, the $1,080,000 first place check and highly-coveted FedExCup points when “The Greatest Show on Grass” returns to the TPC Scottsdale the week of January 28 – Feb. 3, 2008.

Phil Mickelson, the 2nd-ranked player on the Official World Golf Ranking, is the highest ranked player to commit.  Others in the field who rank among the top-20 on the World Golf Ranking include K.J. Choi at 9th; Rory Sabbatini, who ranks 11th; Ogilvy at 13th; 2007 Masters Champion Zach Johnson, who sits at 15th; defending FBR Open champ Aaron Baddeley at 17th; and Immelman, who is currently 19th on the list.

PGA TOUR members have until 5 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 25, to commit to play in the FBR Open.  Eligible players are assigned one of 34 PGA TOUR priority ranking categories based on their past performance on TOUR. The field will continue to change as players with better priority rankings commit to play in the Open.

Other notable commitments have been received from 1989 British Open champ and three-time FBR/Phoenix Open winner Mark Calcavecchia, 1996 British Open winner Tom Lehman, 1995 British Open champion Justin Leonard, 2003 PGA Championship winner Shaun Micheel and 2001 PGA Championship winner David Toms.

Currently 11 former FBR/Phoenix Open champions are in the field, including Tommy Armour III (1990), Paul Azinger (1987) (exemption), Baddeley (2007), Calcavecchia (1989, 1992, 2001), Chris DiMarco (2002), J.B. Holmes (2006), Jonathan Kaye (2004), Lehman (2000), Rocco Mediate (1999), Mickelson (1996, 2005) and Jesper Parnevik (1998).

Commitments also have been received from Stuart Appleby, Woody Austin, Stewart Cink, Fred Funk, J.J. Henry, Charley Hoffman, Charles Howell III, Kenny Perry, John Rollins, Bubba Watson, Boo Weekley and Brett Wetterich. 

 Other Valley residents in the field include Michael Allen, Todd Demsey (exemption), Robert Garrigus, Billy Mayfair, Arron Oberholser, Pat Perez, Ted Purdy (exemption) and Jeff Quinney.

The following is an alphabetField as of January 16, 2008:ical list of the current entries:                  

Michael Allen
Jason Allred
Stuart Appleby
Ryan Armour
Tommy Armour III
Woody Austin
Eric Axley
Paul Azinger
Aaron Baddeley
Briny Baird
Craig Barlow
Cameron Beckman
Rich Beem
David Berganio, Jr.
Shane Bertsch
Jason Bohn
Olin Browne
Bart Bryant
Jonathan Byrd
Mark Calcavecchia
Alex Cejka
K.J. Choi
Daniel Chopra
Stewart Cink
Ben Crane
Ben Curtis
Brian Davis
Jason Day
Chris DiMarco
Ken Duke
Joe Durant
Steve Elkington
Nick Flanagan

Steve Flesch
Fred Funk
Robert Garrigus
Brian Gay
Lucas Glover
Mathew Goggin
Jason Gore
Nathan Green
Mathias Gronberg
Bill Haas
Todd Hamilton
Dudley Hart
J.P. Hayes
J.J. Henry
Mark Hensby
Tim Herron
Charley Hoffman
J.B. Holmes
Charles Howell III
Ryuji Imada
Trevor Immelman
Brandt Jobe
Richard Johnson
Zach Johnson
Jonathan Kaye
Jerry Kelly
Anthony Kim
Cliff Kresge
Matt Kuchar
Stephen Leaney
Tom Lehman
Justin Leonard
Frank Lickliter II

Peter Lonard
Will MacKenzie
Hunter Mahan
John Mallinger
Steve Marino
Shigeki Maruyama
Troy Matteson
Billy Mayfair
Scott McCarron
George McNeill
Rocco Mediate
Shaun Micheel
Phil Mickelson
Jon Mills
Ryan Moore
Kevin Na
Sean O'Hair
Nick O'Hern
Arron Oberholser
Joe Ogilvie
Geoff Ogilvy
Jeff Overton
Rod Pampling
Jin Park
Jesper Parnevik
Pat Perez
Tom Pernice, Jr.
Kenny Perry
Tim Petrovic
Carl Pettersson
Ted Purdy
Brett Quigley
Jeff Quinney

John Rollins
Andres Romero
Brett Rumford
Rory Sabbatini
John Senden
Heath Slocum
Brandt Snedeker
Chris Stroud
Kevin Sutherland
Vaughn Taylor
Roland Thatcher
David Toms
D.J. Trahan
Bo Van Pelt
Camilo Villegas
Johnson Wagner
Charles Warren
Nick Watney
Bubba Watson
Boo Weekley
Brett Wetterich
Charlie Wi
Jay Williamson
Dean Wilson
Mark Wilson

3  Open Qualifying
1 Sponsors Exemptions - Qualifying Tournament
3 Sponsors Exemptions - Unrestricted
1 Section Exemption
132 Players in the Field
Thompson, Nicholas
Yang, Y.E.
Jones, Matt
Ridings, Tag
Bolli, Justin
Demsey, Todd
Sheehan, Patrick
Adamonis, Brad
Claxton, Paul
Perkins, Travis

For more US Golf information, visit: